Browsing entries tagged The Sly Company of People Who Care.

The DSC and Impac Dublin longlists

The Sly Company of People Who Care on two longlists, one much longer than the other.


Going back home in your mind

Dave Martins, Stabroek News Getting inside a culture and unravelling it for someone is tough enough if you’re from that culture.  For someone outside the culture, the unravelling is virtually impossible, but a writer from India, Rahul Bhattacharya, has done it. He has written the definitive delineation of Guyanese culture in an enthralling book – “The […]


The Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Prize 2012

Rahul Bhattacharya wins the £10,000 Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Prize with his first novel The Sly Company of People Who Care (Picador) 2012 judges Nick Laird, Michèle Roberts and Kamila Shamsie admired ‘Bhattacharya’s verve and style as he brilliantly evokes the history and inhabitants and landscape of Guyana’. Nick Laird said he had ‘seldom read a book with so […]


The Hindu Literary Prize

The Sly Company of People Who Care won the Hindu Literary Prize for Best Fiction 2011. Here is the shortlist, and below, the award citation. A link to an interview with The Hindu SHORTLIST Bharathipura, translated work of U.R. Ananthamurthy, translated by Sushila Punitha The Sly Company of People Who Care by Rahul Bhattacharya The […]


Reviews for “The Sly Company of People Who Care”

USA & The Caribbean ‘What a voice, what a startling, funny, charming, provocative voice! Rahul Bhattacharya’s narrator is a true wanderer and a gifted poet of description. The journey he takes us on, through Guyana, through histories and selves, is a wonder.’ – Sam Lipsyte, author of The Ask ‘Exuberant and often arresting… What a remarkable […]


The Sly Company of People Who Care

A dazzling novel, propelled by a singularly forceful voice, Rahul Bhattacharya captures the heady adventures of travel, the overheated restlessness of youth, and the paradoxes of searching for life’s meaning in the escape from home.

Winner of the Ondaatje Prize and the Hindu Literary Prize